Glimpses of Vedic Literature

Amnyaka Literature

ARANYAKA literature is rather small as compared to the Brahmana and Upanishadic literature. It is quite possible that originally the Aranyaka literature was larger,but much of it was lost in course of time. Today only six Aranyakas are available:

1. Aitareya Aranyaka } which belongs
2. Shankhayana Aranyaka to the Rigveda


3.Talavakara Aranyaka which belongs to the Samaveda

4. Taittiriya Aranyaka which belongs to Krishna Yajurveda

5. Brihadaranyaka which belongs to the Shukia Yajurveda

6. Maitrayaniya Aranyaka which belongs to the Charaka recension of the Shukia Yajurveda. Aranyakas are so called because they were supposed

Next Page
We use cookies in this webiste to support its technical features, analyze its performance and enhance your user experience. To find out more please read our privacy policy.